Moments in Club History, June

June was always a busy period in the club history. In the 1980s the club promoted the Rayleigh Town Centre Crits; RTTC National 25 won by Darryl Webster and more recently the British Cycling Paralympic National Road Championships, a two-day event with the first day being held at Canewdon.
Scroll down for a picture gallery

Rayleigh 1984 Results pdf



1st recorded Club 50 mile time trial

Winner Jock Ashley 2:29:20


1st Club 1 mile grass track championship held

Whit Monday meeting at Rochford


Southend Wheelers Open 50

Winner Bowman Ross Wheelers 2hr 28 mins 91 entries


Southend Wheelers Open 50 (1st ever open win by a club member)


1st Wally Palmer (Southend Wheelers) 1st Team Southend Wheelers Palmer E Goss W Hutley 74 entries


Dave Bartram wins first Senior National medal for Club


2nd in NCU 4000m Pursuit Championship to World Champion Norman Sheil (Melling Wheelers)


19 year old Sean Yates wins SCW 25
on E72 in 51:56


Pete Brown asks Sean if he has been all the way round?


Club promotes first Rayleigh Town Centre Criterium


Winner Guy Rowland (VC D'Or)

Results pdf


Club promotes RTTC National 25 mile Championship on E31


Winner Darryl Webster (Manchester Wheelers) 51m 16s


Club promotes last Rayleigh Town Centre Criterium


Winner Matthew Illingworth (Olympia Sport)


1 hour Track record @ Herne Hill

Malcolm Davis 23:852 miles (38:664kms)


Club promotes BC Paralympic National Road Championships

At Canewdon and Hog Hill, Redbridge

Colin Lander at Rayleigh

Malcom Davies setting the club hour record
Some images of the National Para Cycling


Press Releases