2018 Marshalling Duties

A message from the marshalling secretary

Dear fellow Wheelers,

Please see the table below for the dates that are now set for our events calendar during 2019.

The first table in green is the Southend events. Our calendar is reduced but still exciting this year as we have some really good spectator friendly duties including the 55th Andrews Trophy Road Race. We are also looking for an organiser for this event next year, so this would be a great opportunity to shadow Ben and see how its done.

I have attached the list of all the events that we need marshals for. The duties at our own Time Trials and Road Race (highlighted in green), include Timekeeper and Assistant time keeper, serving refreshments, pusher-offers, marshals, putting out the signs etc., so if you have a preference please add it to your reply. Some duties still enable you to participate in the event itself so please ask if this is the case.
Please choose 3 events. You will not be required to do all 3 events, but we may use your 3rd choice if the other dates have already been filled.

The table in orange is the ECCA events that we have been asked to marshal. These are provisional dates as Iím still awaiting confirmation.
The sooner you reply with your preferences the more likely you are to be volunteering at your chosen events. 
I have sent this to all members in the club so everyone is included and so that you know when and where the events are but I am aware that some of you donít marshal because you live too far away or to young, please donít worry about letting me know as am aware of who you are.

There is a separate rota for the Wednesday Time Trial League which is known to the regular riders and is managed by Andy Merchant and Dave Carey. Please e-mail  if you have any questions at wednesdaytt@southendwheelers.org

The Saturday Time Trial League is also a separate marshalling rota, and Jane Harris is the organiser secretary@southendwheelers.org If you want to volunteer to marshal for either leagues, please contact Jane.

Finally, and big thank you to Denise who has managed the marshalling for the last few years and to all members who have volunteered for past events and will Iím sure volunteer this year; without you these events cannot go ahead.

Look forward to hearing from you

Cheryl Perry
Last Updated: 9th April

Event Date Course / Venue Organiser Req Confirmed
Road Race Sunday 5th May West Hanningfield Leonard Gordon 4 John Gretton, Adrian & Carol Cartwright & Steve Shore
10 Mile TT Sunday 14th July E91 Joan Witchell 1 Jamie Maidment
10 Mile TT Saturday 10th August E2   1 Jamie Maidment
25 Mile TT Sunday 8th September E6 Rob Young 2 Jamie Maidment, Paul Hart
10 Mile TT Saturday 14th September E2   2 Jamie Maidment
Easter Egg TT Mon 22nd April Steeple, E21 Jamie Maidment Full Matt Kane, Mike Steet, James Kane, Carol Franklyn, Martyn Franklyn, Nicola Wright
Andrews Trophy Road Race Saturday 18th May East Hanningfield Ben Willy 10 More! Terry Butcher, Dan Jenkins, Dave Whybrow, Nick & Nicky Elliston, Katie-Ann & Hannah Elliston, Jane Harris, Kevin Smith, Simon Smith, Cheryl Perry, Andy Merchant, Les Bantock, Ian Mackenzie, Mike Street, Fred Little, John Gretton, Richard Hardiman, Steve Shore, Arthur & Chris Knowler
Club Road Race Sunday 9th June Redbridge Cycle Centre Adrian Cartwright   Matt Kane, Dave Whybrow, Adrian & Carol Cartwright, Julie Kane, Jane & Martin Harris, Denise & Jordan Kemp, Mike Street
Norman Wells 50 Sunday 30th June Steeple, E21 Arthur Knowler More! Terry Butcher, Dave Whybrow, Nick & Nicky Elliston, Jane Harris, Denise & Jordan Kemp, Les Bantock, David Pennington, Jennie Page, Dan Pugh, Cheryl Perry, Esther Fine
Track Championship Sunday 28th July Herne Hill Nick Elliston   Adrian Cartwright, Nick, Nicky, Katie-Ann & Hannah Elliston, Chris Smith, Bob Barber, Martyn Franklyn
Over The Hill Criteriums+ Sunday 28th July Redbridge Cycle Centre Fred Little Full Mike Street, Danny Tape, Dave Whybrow, Mike Bruschett
Club Hill Climb Sunday 20th October Little Baddoq     Julie Kane, Paul Hart, Nicola Wright
Christmas Pudding 10 Sunday 15th September Steeple, E21 Barry Simpson   Terry Butcher, Matt Kane, Chris Smith, Paul Hart, Martyn Franklyn, Nicola Wright, Denise & Jordan Kemp,